2019 Dr. Harrison D. Lawless Scholarship Award

McKinley Winter Alumni Newsletter 2019
November 11, 2018
Big Blue Machine welcomes Lenard Tillery III as Assistant Football Coach
March 12, 2019

2019 Dr. Harrison D. Lawless Scholarship Award

 2019 Dr. Harrison D. Lawless Scholarship Awards

Sponsored by the McKinley Alumni Association


Dr. Harrison D. Lawless was a 1928 graduate of McKinley High School.  Throughout his career as an educator, he was committed to the proper training and education of young people in the State of Louisiana.  Dr. Lawless will be long-remembered for his exemplary work at Southern University (Baton Rouge) as Dean and Coordinator of Freshman Studies.  The commitment to excellence, love and devotion that typified his work with young people, especially underprivileged minority students, was the legacy that provided the impetus for the Dr. Harrison D. Lawless Award.  It is in keeping with his spirit that the McKinley High School Alumni Association bestows this award in his honor.


Next year (2019) five (5) recipients were selected to receive the Dr. Harrison D. Lawless Award in the amount of $1,000 each.

The following guidelines are applicable:


  1. Interested students must complete and submit an application with attachments no later than Friday, May 2019.
  2. Recipients must be a 2019 graduate of McKinley High School with at least a 2.5 GPA.
  3. The selected students must be recommended by McKinley High School officials by letter submitted to the McKinley High School Alumni Association Scholarship Committee.
  4. Recipients must have a financial need that is verified by letter from the Guidance Counselor at McKinley High School to the McKinley High School Alumni Association Scholarship Committee.
  5. The award will be forwarded to the recipients upon submission of proof of registration at an institution of higher learning.  Proof of registration will be a copy of a paid receipt in the recipient’s name and/or a letter from the Registrar certifying that the recipient has completed registration.


Applications with attachments should be submitted as follows:

Email:  McKAlumniScholarship@gmail.com




McKinley High Alumni Association Scholarship Committee

1520 Thomas Delpit Dr.

Baton Rouge, LA  70802

For applications or information: call/text 225-916-8881 or

Send an email to McKAlumniScholarship@gmail.com

Download Application

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *